## Minutes of September 4th 2014 Meeting

Senate Growth and Development Committee September 25, 2014

Attendance: Tracie Borden, Erin Mason, Andrew Moiseff, James Renfro, Faquir Jain

Recommendation submitted to Senate as the annual report during May 2014 for AY 2013-14 was discussed. This was done in light of improving standing among AAU members.

- 1. Ways to increase graduate enrollment by providing fellowships, RA and TA positions were considered. It was suggested to get statistics from the Graduate School.
- 2. Suggestions were made to have two-year professional MS degree programs.
- 3. In light declining industry sponsorships during the past 6-7 years from  $\sim$ 6% to  $\sim$ 2%, members suggested to have creative workshops inviting industry and other enterprises on campus. This would result in more co-op positions, jobs, and extramural grants.
- 4. Enrollment increases of approximately 15% during the past 2-3 years in the Honor's program were noted. More needs to be done to increase the proportion in relation to the total student population.
- 5. Safety on campus (one of annual report recommendations) was discussed. IT systems need improvement in light of enhanced monitoring in new buildings, existing buildings such as library and laboratories.

The meeting adjourned at 12:15pm.

## **Fall meetings:**

Friday, October 17, 2014 at 10:00am in Hall Building Room 123.

Sally Reiss, Vice Provost will discuss Academic Plan implementation.

10:30am.....(TBC)

Octoebr 31<sup>st</sup> 2014, 10:00am....

November 14, 2014, 10:00am ......(TBC) in Hall Building Room 123.

10:30am ....

December 5, 2014, 10:00am (TBC) in Hall Building Room 123.

10:30am ....

(We are in the process of confirming meetings with Kent Holsinger, Jeffrey Seeman and Joshua Newton. It is likely that we may have two meetings in October and November).

## **UConn Senate Growth and Development Committee Members:**

Reda Ammar, David Benson, Robert Bird, Tracie Borden, Jake Broccolo, Joseph Crivello, Masha Gordina, Kathy Hendrickson, Kathryn Libal, Erin Mason, Daniel Mercier, Andrew Moiseff, James Renfro, Lyle Scruggs, Dana Wilder, Faquir Jain