Minutes of September 26th 2014 Meeting

Senate Growth and Development Committee October 16, 2014

Attendance: Tracie Borden, Jake Broccolo, Joseph Crivello, Masha Gordina, Kathy Hendrickson, Daniel Mercier, Andrew Moiseff, James Renfro, Lyle Scruggs, Faquir Jain

F. Jain apprised the members of last year's annual report and noted that to be invited as an AAU member, we need to reach a certain threshold in terms of R&D spending and graduate enrollment (~ ratio of 0.4 to undergraduate enrollment). This was followed by discussion on how to accomplish these goals over next 6-7 years under NextGen.

J. Renfro suggested developing Mansfield Depot Campus to provide graduate housing on similar to the Storrs Commons. He also noted that UConn need to get control of the North Eagleville Road in light of the Student Recreation Center, Science Complex, and new dormitories.

M. Gordina noted that UConn has stopped subsidizing day care.

It was suggested by members to invite Campus Master Planner Laura Cruickshank, Police Chief Barbara O'Connor and Technology Park coordinators Lawrence Silbart and Steven Suib for updates.

The discussion shifted to the lack of professional staff hiring to manage the increased undergraduate enrollment. J. Renfro noted that teaching of laboratories require dedicated staff. The need to maintain the quality of instruction was emphasized. This led to the discussion about the low returns (~38%) of the student assessment forms at the end of semester. Getting a report on Academic Advising was also suggested.

The meeting adjourned at 11:00am.

Fall meetings:

Friday, October 17, 2014 at 10:00am, Hall Building, Room 123. Sally Reiss, Vice Provost will discuss Academic Plan implementation.

October 31st 2014, 10:00am Kent Holsinger, Hall Building, Room 123.

November 14, 2014, 10:00am Jeff Seeman, Hall Building, Room 123. 10:30am Lawrence Silbart and Steven Suib

December 5, 2014, 10:00am Joshua Newton, Hall Building, Room 123.

10:30am Laura Cruickshank and Beverly Wood.

(We are in the process of confirming meetings with Laura Cruickshank, Steven Suib, and Barbara O'Connor),

UConn Senate Growth and Development Committee Members:

Reda Ammar, Marcy Balunas, David Benson, Robert Bird, Tracie Borden, Jake Broccolo, Joseph Crivello, Masha Gordina, Shanna Graham, Kathy Hendrickson, Kathryn Libal, Jeanne Martin, Erin Mason, Daniel Mercier, Andrew Moiseff, James Renfro, Lyle Scruggs, Dana Wilder, Faquir Jain