Minutes of the Faculty Standards Committee, University Senate, 4/3/2017

In Attendance:

*Sandra Bellini, School of Nursing *Jack Clausen, CAHNR *Maria-Luz Fernandez, CAHNR *Michael Fischl, School of Law *Lewis Gordon, Philosophy *Del Siegle, Neag School of Education Lloyd Blanchard, OIRE Preston Britner, Human Development & Family Studies Amy Fehr, Graduate Student Senate Brandon Murray, Office of the Provost Sally Reis, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs (*Ex Officio* Member) Andrew Rogalski, Undergraduate Student Government Sarah Woulfin, Neag School of Education

Guest: Interim Provost Jeremy Teitelbaum

Jack Clausen called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

Old Business

The 3/6/2017 Minutes were approved (11 in favor; 1 abstention).

Emeritus Faculty Procedures.

Provost Teitelbaum wanted to speak with FSC about the wording (and logic) behind the FSC recommendation (see 11/6/2016 minutes) that the Board of Trustees change the By-Laws language on "Retirement." [By-Laws of the University of Connecticut, Article XIV – The University Staff, Section K. Retirement.] He questioned the need for a Retirement Committee and the specific academic titles that were contained in the FSC proposal for "Emeritus" designation (without requiring Retirement Committee review). After some discussion on the merits of retaining such a committee for handling nonfaculty requests and special cases, the FSC focused on the idea of allowing all faculty who met the By-Law language for conditions of retirement to retire (after at least 5 years of service at UConn) to be recommended to the BOT for *emeritus* status. Thus, all faculty members who retire may then – upon BOT approval – be "Title (held at retirement) *Emeritus*." The Retirement Committee would remain in order to handle special cases.

A motion to reconsider passed (unanimously). Brandon, Brit, and Jack were tasked with refining the language and circulating the draft ahead of the FSC's May meeting, at which we will vote to approve the new recommendation.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:00 p.m.

Minutes submitted respectfully by Preston Britner.