Senate Enrollment Committee Annual Report 2017-2018

Committee Charge:

This committee shall propose legislation within the jurisdiction of the Senate and make recommendations on all matters relating to the recruitment, admission, enrollment, and retention of an outstanding and diverse student population. The committee shall include two undergraduate students.

Committee Membership, 2017/18 (*Senate Member 2017/18)

- *Sebastian Wogenstein, Chair, Literature, Culture & Languages
- *Cora Lynn Deibler, School of Fine Arts
- *Diana Rios, Communication
- *Leslie Shor, Engineering
- *Lisa Werkmeister-Rozas, Social Work

Christopher Clark, History

Pam Diggle, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

Nathan Fuerst, Admissions Office

Eva Gorbants, School of Fine Arts

Raymond Hagan, Undergraduate Student Representative

Wayne Locust, Vice President for Enrollment Planning & Management (Ex-Officio Member)

Mansour Ndiaye, CLAS

Nella Quasnitschka, Early College Experience

Brian Rockwood, Registrar's Office

Priyanka Thakkar, Undergraduate Student Representative

Susana Ulloa, ISS Academic Program Center

Report of Activities:

During the 2017-2018 academic year, the Enrollment Committee met with constituents and administrators across the university during six meetings from September 2017 to April 2018.

Summary of Monthly Meetings:

A summary of the major items discussed is presented below.

Full minutes of each meeting can be found at

http://senate.uconn.edu/enrollment-committee-minutes-2014-2015/

1) Throughout the year, committee member and Assistant VP for Enrollment and Director of Admissions, Nathan Fuerst, provided information regarding enrollment, enrollment targets, and the demographics of enrolled students. Compared to previous years, a significant change has been dramatically increased enrollment at the Stamford campus as the new residence halls

opened this academic year. For more details, see the addendum to the minutes of the September 2017 meeting and the table in the February 2018 minutes.

2) Throughout the year, committee member and Associate Registrar, Brian Rockwood, provided information regarding student demographics as well as classroom space and scheduling challenges. For more details on the situation in the AY 2017/18, see the attachment to the November 2017 meeting.

Rockwood noted decreasing compliance with the standard meeting pattern over the past few years as a specific problem for scheduling. This has led to significant challenges when assigning classroom space.

3) The committee continued its focus on the enrollment situation at regional campuses in two meetings.

In September 2017, Annemarie Seifert, director of the Avery Point Campus, and Laurie Saunders, Senior Admissions Officer at the Avery Point Campus presented on their campus.

In March 2018, the committee visited the Hartford Campus to see the new facilities and meet with Campus Director Mark Overmyer-Velazquez and Assistant Campus Director / Director of Student Services Katherine Martin.

For more details, see the September and March minutes.

- 4) The committee discussed the English language skills and TOEFL scores of admitted international students. For more details, see the April 2018 minutes.
- 5) The committee invited directors of summer programs to present and discuss the programs and campus use over the summer with the committee members. The directors included Kate Copeland, Assistant Director of University Events and Conference Services; Susanna Cowan, Director, Office of Summer & Winter Programs; Bidya Ranjeet, Executive Director, Center for Academic Programs; and Nella Quasnitschka, Associate Director of Early College Programs & Director of Pre-College Summer.

For more details, see the April 2018 minutes.