FSC Minutes from 5 Nov 2018

Attending: George McManus (chair), Marysol Asencio, Philip Gould, Lisa Holle, Guillermo Irizarry, Linda Pescatello, Kathy Segerson, Del Siegle, Paula Philbrick, Preston Britner, Elizabeth Jockusch, John Volin (ex officio), Danielle Heichel, Tom Bontly (AAUP, invited)

- 1. Minutes of 17 Sep and 8 Oct meetings approved.
- 2. AAUP president Tom Bontly joined a discussion of sabbatical leave policy for non-tenure track faculty. AAUP believes that all faculty holding the title of "professor", including research and in-residence faculty, should have the opportunity for sabbatical leave. VP John Volin reviewed the history of this issue and presented preliminary data on recent trends in tenure track (steady) vs in-residence (rising) faculty hires at UCONN. He talked about how sabbaticals are currently funded and how extending sabbaticals to non-tenure track faculty might disproportionately impact regional campus programs. He stated that paid research leave for non-tenure track faculty would be available when funding sources (grants, fellowships, etc.) were clearly identified.
- 3. It was decided that the FSC would continue to seek information on this topic, in particular what successful models are out there for non-tenure track faculty leave. Prof. McManus will try to find out how U Delaware funds such leaves, Prof. Holle will ask about her alma mater, U Wisconsin, and Dr. Philbrick will seek information about Yale medical school leaves.