FSC Minutes from 3Dec 2018 meeting

Attending: George McManus (chair), Marysol Asencio, Lewis Gordon, Philip Gould, Lisa Holle, Guillermo Irizarry, Suman Majumdar, Kathy Segerson, Paula Philbrick, Preston Britner, Elizabeth Jockusch, John Volin (ex officio), Sarah Woulfin, Danielle Heichel

- 1. Minutes of 5 Nov meeting approved.
- 2. Continued discussion of sabbatical leave policy for non-tenure track (non-TT) faculty. Information was distributed regarding specific leave policies for non-TT faculty at the University of Delaware (peer) and the University of Wisconsin (aspirant). According to their VP for Faculty Affairs Matthew Kinservik, U Delaware seeks parity in awarding leave opportunities to all faculty, regardless of tenure-track status. Leaves should be concordant with job duties (pedagogy for non-TT and primarily research for TT). At Wisconsin, all leaves are primarily justified based on improved teaching.
- 3. VP Volin informed us that at UCONN an average of 5% of the TT faculty is on leave at any one time and reiterated the difficulties of funding leaves for professors with substantially higher teaching loads, especially at regional campuses. It was decided that Chair McManus would provide a summary of our discussions and propose a recommendation to the Senate for the FSC to approve.
- 4. Next meeting will be 4 Feb 2019 1400h in Dodd 162.